BENTON TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION

Meeting Minutes October 10, 2019

Members Present: Jack Caughey, Tom Fasnaugh, Jeff Locke, Roy Pelfrey, Maureen Sorbet,

Ben Kudwa, Chris Tennes and Barb Wickerham

Members Absent: Jason Haigh

Others who attended the Meeting:

L. Hoxie, J. Diemer, G. Smith, K. Bakke – Geronimo, Court Recorder from Geronimo,

Call to Order:

Chairman Jack Caughey called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m., and led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Meeting Minutes Approved:

A motion was made by Maureen Sorbet, supported by Jeff Locke, to approve the minutes of September 5, 2019. Motion carried 8 yeas; 0 nays.

Agenda Amendments:

Agenda was approved as written.

New Business:

Conditional Use Permit; CU-11-19-4, Application Names: John and Mary Diemer and ABM Sand and Gravel LLC. The request is to get approval to surface mine property on Benton Road, property code: 070-007-200-088-05. After discussion, a motion was made by Tom Fasnaugh, supported by Chris Tennes to approve the Conditional Use Permit CU-11-19-4 for surface mining, submitted by John and Mary Diemer with mining rights by ABM Sand and Gravel, with the following stipulations:

- The project is implemented consistent with Section 14.25 of the Eaton County Development Code:
- The project will be limited to five (5) years of operations from the effective date of the permit. Any extensions will require approval of both the Township and County;
- The use of additional contractors will require the approval by Township and County;
- Applicant will work with the Eaton County Road Commission to get approval as it relates to the Benton Road 16.5' roadway width and the haul route, or any other requirements deemed needed by the Road Commission.

Roll Call Vote: M. Sorbet-yes; T. Fasnaugh-yes; J. Locke-yes; J. Caughey-yes; R. Pelfrey-yes; B. Kudwa-yes; B. Wickerham-yes; C. Tennes-yes. Motion Approved: Ayes-8; Nays-0; Absent-1

Approved Conditional Use Permit will be heard by the Benton Township Board on Monday, October 14, 2019.

Public Comment:

None

The next meeting date (to be determined).

Adjournment: 7:30

Prepared by Barbara Wickerham, Secretary of the Planning Commission